• Share on facebook
  • Share on twitter
  • Share on LinkedIn
  • Share on Google+

Awards and honours


Throughout each year there are a range of 'Honours Announcements' made public. These include the Australia Day Honours on Australia Day, January 26, Queen's Birthday Honours in June, Honorary Awards - Order of Australia and Australian Bravery Decorations announcements. This site details the awards and recipients

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Australia's local hero

Australia’s Local Hero 2014 is Tim Conolan who established the charity TLC for kids to make a difference to children in hospital and undergoing medical treatment.

National Australia Day Council

Australian Bravery Decorations

Australian Bravery Decorations recognise acts of bravery by members of the community. They selflessly put themselves in jeopardy to protect the lives or property of others.Bravery or courage differs from fortitude in a crisis situation. Bravery is a deliberate choice to go from a place of safety to danger or remain in a perilous position to provide help.The Cross of Valour is the highest bravery decoration. It is awarded for acts of conspicuous courage in circumstances of extreme peril.

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Australian of the Year

The Australian of the Year 2014, Adam Goodes, was honoured for his leadership and advocacy in the fight against racism both on the sporting field and within society – a stance which has won him the admiration and respect of people around Australia.

National Australia Day Council

Australian of the Year Awards

Each year our nation celebrates the achievement and contribution of eminent Australians through the Australian of the Year Awards by profiling leading citizens who are role models for us all. This site includes details on the present and past Australian of the Year, Young Australian of the Year, and Senior Australian of the Year and nomination forms for the Australian of the Year Awards.

National Australia Day Council

Australian of the Year Awards - Honour roll

Provides details of the National Award winners and all State and Territory past award finalists from the 1960's to the present.

National Australia Day Council

Australian RIRDC Rural Women's Award

The Award recognises women's vital contribution to rural Australia and encourages them to have a greater participation in its decision making.

Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation


There are 53 awards in the Australian honours system and the best known of these is the Order of Australia. From this page you can explore the A-Z lists of both Australian and Imperial awards, find out how and when to wear a medal, and what post-nominal entitlements apply as well as learn about honorary awards and foreign awards.

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Defence Honours & Awards

The Defence Honours & Awards site contains information about Defence medals and awards. It gives contact details for honours and awards queries and application submissions for military and civilian awards and medals.

Department of Defence

Honoured Australians

Australian honours recognise and celebrate ordinary Australians who show courage, self-sacrifice, dedication, love and service to their community and humanity. Their stories help shape our country's enduring qualities in the present and the future.

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet


Australia has a system of honours and awards so its citizens can be recognised for excellence, achievement or meritorious service. This page links to a wealth of information covering all aspects of Australian honours including details about our honours system and all you need to know about awards.

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet


6–13 July 2014
A celebration of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures and an opportunity to recognise the contributions of Indigenous Australians in various fields. All Australians are encouraged to participate in NAIDOC Week activities.

Department of Social Services

National Medal

The National Medal recognises long and diligent service by members of recognised organisations that help the community during times of crisis. This includes government organisations such as ambulance, correctional, emergency, fire and police forces, and voluntary organisations such as lifesaving or search and rescue groups.The National Medal is Australia's most awarded civilian medal.

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Order of Australia

In the Australian honours system appointments to the Order of Australia confer the highest recognition for outstanding achievement and service.There are two divisions of the Order of Australia: the Civil or General Division and the Military Division.

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Prime Minister's Literary Awards

The Prime Minister's Literary Awards celebrate the contribution of Australian literature to the nation's cultural and intellectual life. The awards, held annually, recognise literature's importance to our national identity, community and economy.

Ministry for the Arts

Senior Australian of the year

The Senior Australian of the Year 2014, Fred Chaney AO, has been recognised for his commitment to reconciliation and human rights.

National Australia Day Council

Victoria Cross for Australia

The Victoria Cross for Australia is the pre-eminent award for acts of bravery in wartime and Australia's highest military honour.It is awarded to persons who, in the presence of the enemy, display the most conspicuous gallantry; a daring or pre-eminent act of valour or self-sacrifice; or extreme devotion to duty.

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Young Australian of the Year

The Young Australian of the Year 2014  is 21 year old Paralympic swimmer Jacqueline Freney whose achievements, tenacity and commitment are proof that we are all capable of greatness.

National Australia Day Council

Back to top